NZF Community Coach Developer Training

New Zealand Football Coach Development are delighted to announce the next NZF Community Coach Developer Training course in conjunction with WaiBOP Football Federation.

Coach Developers perform a key function in the coaching system and we are on the lookout for enthusiastic and ambitious Coach Developers to help grow the federation coaching fraternity. This is a vital role facilitated through our 7 member federations which will help shape the future of football provision across the country.

The course helps to familiarise Coach Developers with the philosophy, theory and delivery styles adopted by NZF. It will showcase examples of skills, knowledge and methods to deliver a high quality formal Community Coach Education course, covering areas such as presentation, communication and facilitation skills, with a particular focus on helping adults learn to become good community football coaches.

The 3 day non-residential course will take place at Cambridge Football Club, John Kerkhof Park and runs from 9.30am – 3.30pm on Tuesday 27th –  Thursday 29th  March, 2018 with full attendance required throughout.

We are inviting applications from club based Football Development Officers, Directors of Coaching / Football and other prospective Coach Developers who wish to help continue the ongoing evolution of Community Coach Education courses that are part of the NZF Coach Education Pathway launched in 2015.

Applications can be made online and must be lodged with a current football CV by Monday 26 February.These should be sent through via email to

Applicants will be informed of the outcome of their application by Friday 2 March following a review by a selection panel.

New Zealand Football Coach Development are covering all costs of the course and are able to make this available free of charge for all successful applicants.

Should you require any further information, please feel free to get in touch on the email details below.

Kind Regards,

Alec Wilson
Waikato Region Football Development Officer (Coach Education & Talent) 

 021 063 9371 | 07 858 5389 
Brian Perry Sports House, Wintec Rotokauri Campus, Akoranga Road
PO Box 1230, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand

2018 Coaching Structure . . .

Ngaruawahia United AFC (NUAFC) has appointed a new Men’s Coaching team to take the club back to Northern League football.
This is a rebuilding stage for a club with a proud history and high expectations and ambitions.
Appointments and contact details are as follows:
WaiBop Federation Championship League Coaching team:
Jeff Tozer 0278248999
Rodi Rojas 0212240228
Richard Harris 021852772
Waikato Men’s Division A key contacts:
Matt Williams 0274745656
Jared Williams 0212229750
Waikato Women’s Division B Coaching team:
Jeff Tozer 0278248999
Craig Paterson 0278842625
Carl Payne 0277410276
Team Manager – Megan Parnwell 0273724697
It is pleasing to welcome the Coaching teams who are a mix of former players, administrators and Coaching staff from previous seasons who have great knowledge of what makes our club a special place to be a part of.
We are also planning to make further announcements regarding additional coaching assistants over the coming weeks.
All new and ex-players (both Male and Female) are invited to come down to catch up with the Coaching teams and hear their plans for the upcoming season at our annual “Players
Welcome BBQ” on Thursday 25 th January 2018 (6.30pm start).
Pre-season training for the Men’s teams is expected to start Tuesday 30th January 2018 (6.15pm). The Women’s teams will be advertised at a later date.
Please feel free to contact either Jeff or myself if you have any further questions.
NUAFC President
Jared Williams
021 222 9750

New Zealand Football Media Association 2017 award winners announced . . .

Programme of the Year

 Winner: Shared by Waitemata edited by Mark Reid and Papatoetoe AFC Ladies edited by Andrew Kirk

 Highly Commended: Auckland City FC and Eastern Suburbs

Waitemata complete their hat trick in this category while Papatoetoe make it third time lucky after narrowly missing out as beaten finalists in 2014 and 2015. First presented in 1980, Programme of the Year was won by Gisborne City for the first eight years (1980-87) and then Napier City Rovers for the next 11 (1988-1999, shared with Hutt Valley United in 1992). Napier also won in 2011 for the 12th time, extending the club’s record in this category.

Judge: Jeremy Ruane (Former Regional-Community Writer, Programme and Publication of the Year winner)

 Judge’s comments: “Thank you to Auckland City FC, Auckland Football Federation, Cambridge, Eastern Suburbs, Ellerslie, Manurewa, Napier City Rovers, Papatoetoe, Stop Out and Waitemata for their submissions, which were generally of better than average quality, with most making great use of colour, content, white space and action photography to assist in communicating their message to the masses.” Continue Reading →

2017 Awards . . . . .

   Megan ParnwellSportswomen
   Bae-Lee Middleton-WoodSquad member
   Cooper Burns & Chelsea WaltonMost Improved Players
   Donna BrightPlayers’ Player
   Helen CrosbyPlayer of the Year
MEN’S AWARDS (Waikato A):
   Rory Kerr-Bell Top Goal Scorer (23)
   Matt Montford Squad Member
   Kevin WalkerSportsman
   Zabir AziziMost Improved
   Hamish MarshPlayer of the Year
   Sandy MacDonald – Dean Trophy. (Awarded to one who has excelled during the year through their diligence and dedication to the particular duties undertaken. In this instance maintenance of the Club’s web-site and Facebook pages, as well as match magazine production).
   Carl Payne – Supporter of the Year. (For the person who has shown outstanding support for the club throughout the year whether by physically attending matches or by their general support to the Club as a whole. This award is most often given to a person not seen as a club official).
   Jared Williams – Cazbar Achievement Award. (Awarded to the person who has made an exceptional achievement during the season whether as a player, official or as a member of the club.
   Jeff Tozer – Club Service Award. (For the person/s who have provided a unique and valuable service to the club throughout the past season or seasons. This could apply to any member or associate of the club. In this instance the development of the Women’s team)
   Matt Williams – Club Sportsperson of 2017. (Highest award in the club and is given to the person who has provided outstanding service to the club during the year in any capacity. Is open to all members whether they are players, coaches, managers, committee members or supporters. Generally an all-rounder performing more than one role consistently well through-out the season).